Worth Reading from the Beginning

I’m not sure what it is about series, but it seems like every time I pick up a book it is part of one. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not automatically against a book if I see that it is the beginning of a series. BUT! If you are like me, you may hesitate before checking it out because you know that a series means more time devoted to a single storyline and a future of excruciatingly long wait times for each new book. In order to help you navigate the treacherous world of series, I have compiled a list of books that I have enjoyed and believe you might too.

Story of Arthur Truluv (Book 2)

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg was a suggestion I received from a co-worker who really enjoyed the story. I was hooked right from the beginning. It follows the friendship of three people who you think would never make a connection. Arthur (a lonely, elderly man) and Maddy (an angry, friendless teenager) meet in the cemetery while he is visiting his dead wife’s grave. It seems like a strange place to connect with someone but they strike up a friendship straightaway. Arthur’s nosy neighbor, Lucille, quickly becomes a member of the close trio. This is a heartwarming story about how those who have lost in the past can make new friendships and be less alone in the world. When I finished this book, I didn’t realize it was the first in a series but when I saw that there was a continuation story, I knew I would be looking to read it. The Night of Miracles delves deeper into the character of Lucille and introduces us to new characters as well. The story was engaging, made you care for each character, and made me cry actual tears. Any novel that can cause a physical reaction is worth reading and recommending.

Charley Davidson (Book 13)

Darynda Jones is the mastermind behind the Charley Davidson series. This is a good one to start with because her thirteenth book conclusion, Summoned to Thirteenth Grave, was just published last month. This series had me wrapped around its figure from the first time I listened to First Grave on the Right. The narrator, Lorelei King, gives life to the main character, Charley Davidson, in this action-packed paranormal romantic suspense series. Charley is a fast-talking, independent, sarcastic woman who works as a private investigator while trying to fulfill her duties as the Grim Reaper. I just finished the last book and absolutely loved my journey with Charley and the gang but do I have very mixed feelings about how it ended. What I’m thinking is going to happen is there will be a spin-off series featuring a different set of characters in the same Charley Davidson universe.

Casey Duncan (Book 4)

When I discovered City of the Lost, I was in that awful spot between books. I had just finished something and items I had on hold were not quite ready yet. In order to pass the time (and hopefully find something to read), I decided to browse the new audiobooks section of Wisconsin’s Digital Library. That’s when City of the Lost caught my attention. At first, it was the cover the made me stop scrolling but then I noticed the author’s name. Kelley Armstrong was an author that I enjoyed as a teenager. Her books are usually urban fantasy but the Casey Duncan novels are rural police mysteries.

Casey Duncan, a big-city homicide detective, and her best friend Diana, are two people who have repeatedly tried to run from their pasts. The two of them move from town to town but they finally decide enough is enough and start seeking out a town that Diana heard was made for people who are on the run and want a new start. They soon find out it is not full of the promises they thought but instead is home to its own particular set of problems, including a designer drug and a murderer. As the town’s new detective, Casey is soon put on the case to hunt down the killer. This novel will keep you guessing and you will not want to put it down. Watcher in the Woods was published at the beginning of this month and I’m not so patiently waiting my turn in the holds list.

Chronicles of the One (Book 2)

Nora Roberts is one of the most popular authors of today and she mainly writes contemporary romances. I haven’t read all of her books but I have really enjoyed the ones that I have read. She has a way of bringing characters to life that makes you feel like you are experiencing what they are experiencing. The Chronicles of the One series takes readers down a new road into apocalyptic fantasy fiction. It follows a cast of characters who have to band together to survive the new world of chaos and the return of magic. Don’t expect to read these ones without getting emotionally invested in the lives of each and every character.


Add a Comment

Now we'd like to hear your thoughts! Comments and suggestions are welcome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All comments must adhere to our Comment Policy.
Your email address will not be published.